The Musings Out Loud of the Child Within
Just another WordPress.com weblog

R.I.P, Asim Butt!

“Golden lads, and girls all must,
As chimney sweepers, come to dust” – W. Shakespeare.

(View From Bhopal House, 2008. Oil and screen print on canvas. 60″ x 90″.)

One of my favourite pieces of art by Asim, ever.

There is nothing more horrifying than opening your Facebook one day, and see an email titled “Sad, sad, sad”. The group on the Stay on the demolition of Metropole sent out an email saying

“Many of you already know this – but Asim Butt, who started this group, took his own life last night at his nani’s home in Karachi. The funeral is at 4 pm from her house on Sunset Blvd.

Sad sad sad. Asim Butt. Artist. Activist. Karachi lover. Peace lover. Saw him last two days ago, exchanged hellos, “It’s all great,” he said, gave an “all’s well” thumbs up and huge smile. Funeral today 4 pm. Why?

The family has asked that Asim’s friends and well wishers do not call or question how and why he is no longer with us. Please respect their privacy.”

Now I didn’t know Asim Butt that well – A few chance meetings, a few conversations, a one-off photography session of a backdrop in progress of being set up – Nothing more. An acquaintance.

But suicide is the one thing that rocks all of our very foundations. It shakes our cocky confidence that life is forever, it disturbs our false reassurances that everything we take for granted is permanent.

Asim Butt to me is Ayn Rands Howard Roark – He stuck to his ability to stick by his ideals, and stood up for what he believed in . He worked long solitary hours, and painted the glory of his minds imagination. His long angular face reminds me of Howards Roarks toothpick like physique which stood strong even in the brute force of the world.

The Second Floor cafe got its mural from Asim – and it was always a greatly admired piece of art. I have some strong memories from the mirror in the mural – as do many others. Often, we would try and figure out different interpretations of what it meant, what was going on in the artists head…

What astounds me the most is – we clearly don’t talk to people enough. I remember feeling like I had too many people on my facebook, and so went on a major cleaning spree- I removed hundreds of people, for the sole reason that we never really spoke.

Asim was one of those people – and now, I really, REALLY wish I had taken more time to simply stop and ask, Whats up?! how are you doing?

We will always remember Asim as an activist, an artist, andthe guy whose awesome I heart Khi graffiti made it on to our t-shirts.

Hope you’re out there, painting giant murals in the canvas that is the sky!!! Rest in Peace. Amen. (Passed away on 14th Jan, 2010)

10 Responses to “R.I.P, Asim Butt!”

  1. Inna Lillahe Wa Inna Elehe Rajeeon!!

    May his soul rest in peace!!

  2. I read about this a few days ago. It broke my heart, really. He was a good man with so much potential. Such a shameful waste.

    May his soul rest in piece.

  3. May his soul rest in peace, Ameen.

  4. inna lil lahae wa inna illaehi rajiun!

  5. Thank you for stopping by at my blog:) Why don’t you update your blog?

  6. Didnt know the person… but that painting…did keep me thinking for a while… found a few more of this paintings on facebook…

  7. spotless- I havent had any inspiration for a while.
    Decided to give it a break.
    But thinking about coming back.

    thanks for stopping by

  8. may his soul rest in peace

  9. i read this post it broke my heart so sad :/

  10. first of all “Inna Lillahe Wa Inna Elehe Rajeeon” me too was listen few days ago about this person paintings. so sad to know about this.

    May his soul rest in piece. :}


Leave a Reply

